Restorative Erosion

A few weeks ago, poet Kellie Ellmore (Magic in the Backyard) shared a lovely etheree (a 10-line poem with lines containing 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 and 10 syllables, respectively)  called “Keys.” I was intrigued by the form and started experimenting with it myself. After several attempts, I came up with this little poem–an unintentional companion piece to “Numb,” it would seem, and an indication that my mind continues to dwell on this process of emerging from emotional self-protection…

Restorative Erosion

Moon
rises;
ocean waves
crash ceaselessly
against the rocky
shoreline of my spirit,
determined to turn boulders
into silky soft, fine-grain sand—
to fashion a warm, welcoming clime
from the stark island my heart has become.

© 2012
Alexis Spencer-Byers

8 responses to “Restorative Erosion

    • Thanks, Mom! I really enjoyed the challenge of working with a particular form–good to stretch a different mental muscle from time to time, right? One of these days, maybe I’ll even join the ranks of the sonnet-writers in the family…

  1. You did a wonderful job with this form! So much beautiful imagery you managed to place in your verse. And the emotion is deeply felt, the stark island you speak of has been my home many times in life. I appreciate your sweet words of comfort about my dad. Thank you so much, you have touched my heart dear. Big hugs to you as you continue to explore your pen, I wish you the best as you have proven a fine student! 🙂 xox ♥

    • Kellie, thanks so much for your kind words, and again for inspiring me to try something a little new and different. I’m so glad Heather “introduced” us to each other, and I look forward to continuing to enjoy your poetry and learn from you!

Leave a Reply

